Terminals of John F. Kennedy International Airport

JFK Terminals Map

There are currently six operating terminals located on the territory of the JFK Airport. Those, in turn, host 128 boarding gates.

If looking at the map of the airport construction, you may notice that all of the terminals have a U-shaped figure and are located right around the parking lots, a power plant, and other facilities. All of the terminals are connected by the AirTrain bus shuttles that provide constant and fast rides between those.

Notably, all of the terminals, except Terminal 2, are fully-equipped to handle the international flights without any pre-clearance.

The terminal was founded back in 1998 and was mainly constructed to hosts the operations of four major airlines: Air France, Korean Air, Japan Airlines, and Lufthansa. William Nicholas Bodouva + Associates designed the terminal building itself.

There are currently 11 boarding gates located across the terminal.

SkyTeam carriers manage the terminal operations. Those are Aeroflot, Star Alliance carriers Air China, Austrian Airlines, China Eastern Airlines, Korean Air, Brussels Airlines, Air France, Alitalia, and Saudia; EVA Air, Lufthansa, and Turkish Airlines; and Oneworld carrier Japan Airlines. However, those are not all of the airlines operating through Terminal 1. Other ones include Air Italy, Fly Jamaica Airways, Norwegian Air, Philippine Airlines, Azerbaijan Airlines, Cayman Airways, Royal Air Maroc, TAME, and WOW Air.

That terminal, in turn, was opened for the operations in 1962. The terminal started to manage the operations of several leading airlines: Northeast Airlines, Braniff, and Northwest Airlines. However, now only Delta Air Lines is operating through the terminal. There are, notably, only C-marked boarding gates (C60-C70), as well as 11 Jetway-equipped gates. Due to the rising demand and some flights, some of those were replaced to Terminal 4.

Terminal 3

That is the primary international terminal that serves the majority of the Delta international flights coming out of New York. The terminal mainly hosts the airlines of the SkyTeam alliance. Thus, those airlines are  Aeromexico, China Southern Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Air Europa, China Airlines, Kenya Airways, KLM, and Xiamen Airlines; Star Alliance carriers South African Airways, Copa Airlines, EgyptAir, Air India, Asiana Airlines, Avianca, Singapore Airlines, and Swiss International Air Lines; and non-alliance carriers Air Serbia, Caribbean Airlines, JetBlue El Al, Emirates, Etihad Airways, Kuwait Airways, Sun Country Airlines, Virgin Atlantic, Volaris, Thomas Cook Airlines, Uzbekistan Airways, WestJet, and XL Airways. 

Terminal now has 38 boarding gates that are divided into two parts: the ones that are the part of the Concourse A (A2-A7), and the ones that are related to the Concourse B (B18, B22-B55, except B40, B50, and B52).

That terminal was opened in 2008 with the purpose of serving as a hub for JetBlue Airways. However, the terminal also serves the flights provided by Hawaiian Airlines, TAP Portugal.

There are currently 29 operating boarding gates.

There is also a relatively newly-opened lounge located at the terminal - the Airspace Lounge opened in 2013. As well as the lounge opened by Aer Lingus in 2015.

That terminal was constructed back in 1970. The major airline companies operating through that terminal are British Airways, Iberia, Qatar Airways, All Nippon Airways, LOT Polish Airlines, Aerolíneas Argentinas, Alaska Airlines, Eurowings, Interjet, Icelandair, and Ukraine International Airlines.

Now the terminal operated through 12 boarding gates.

The official opening of the terminal took place in 2008. However, everything started a long time before that. Thus, a significant company, American Airlines, announced that it has intentions to build a large terminal that would replace former Terminal 8 and 9. And so it did. Therefore, in 1999 the project started to be implemented to live. Nowadays, there are several airlines, apart from American Airlines, that is operating through that terminal. Those are Qatar Airways, Cathay Pacific, LATAM Brasil, LATAM Chile, Finnair, Qantas, and Royal Jordanian Airlines.

The terminal is genuinely huge. It has 84 ticket counters, 44 self-service kiosks, ten security checkpoint lanes available there. There are currently 29 operating boarding gates located in the Concourse B of the terminal, as well as another 17 boarding gates located in the Concourse C, which might be accessed through the underground tunnel leading to it.